tirsdag 22. april 2014

Dead Gurus

Dead Gurus
Including Bennett Johnson (Daughters of The Sun), Sarah Rose (IS/IS) as well as Jason Edmonds and Scott Weller (Magic Castles). While each artist’s band has a forthcoming full length release this year, they are in Edmonds’ words “making the most of [their] time together in MN creating new music, and having a total blast doing it.” While that sounds a bit semi-permanent, hopefully the band manages to record a lot of songs as great as this while they can. Stream “Starflower” as well as “Serpent Fire” below and keep an eye out for news on the band’s facebook page. Dead Gurus next show is in Milwaukee on 4/24 for Psych Fest, but they’ll also be performing locally in a show at the Turf Club opening for psych/drone legends Loop on 4/26.

lørdag 5. april 2014

The Vacant Lots - Departure

July 1, 2014 via Sonic Cathedral


"Departure's opener, "Mad Mary Jones," is a synthesis of adrenaline-driven guitars fueled with electronic and percussive intensity. "6 AM" is a sensory overload strobing with frenetic hypno-monotony set against a backdrop of controlled chaos, while "Make The Connection" contrasts ritualistic tremolo drones against Native American rhythms and spoken word lingering between the pendulum of The Velvets and Lautreamont. For "Tomorrow" the band enlisted longtime friend Dean Wareham to add additional layers and solo on guitar while the mixing and mastering were carried out by Sonic Boom at his New Atlantis Studio in the UK."

Spiritualized’s J. Spaceman and Oneida’s Kid Millions - Misha

24-Minute "Misha" From Collab Album

This is available exclusively on Record Store Day, limited to 3000 copies. The music was recorded live at (Le) Poisson Rouge. Read more here: http://p4k.in/NeD4KY


photo credit: Greg C photography

onsdag 2. april 2014


torsdag 20. mars 2014

Brian Jonestown Massacre - Revelation

Release date 19/05/2014

Available on 180grm translucent & opaque coloured vinyl 2LP and CD.

Revelation is the first album that was fully recorded & produced at Anton’s recording studio in Berlin . It is the 14th full length release from the Brian Jonestown Massacre recorded from late 2012 to early 2014, with Anton Newcombe refining the 13 tracks that appear on the album.

Featuring appearances from: Ricky Maymi (an original member of the band), Joachim Alhund (Les Big Byrd), Constatine Karlis (Dimmer), Ryan Van Kriedt (Asteroid #4) as well as a vocal performance in Swedish by Joachim Alhund (Les Big Byrds) on the opening track.

This album brings the traditional Brian Jonestown Massacre sound mixed with eastern influences & bringing it up to date with the benefit of all the additional weirdness that's been discovered in the past 40 years.

Two dozen band members later and numerous “ups and downs” (some have been famously sensationalized in the media ), the one thing that has always remained consistent for this psychedelic collective, is front man Mr. Anton Alfred Newcombe.

1. Vad Hände Med Dem?  
3. Unknown
4. Memory Camp
5. days, weeks and moths
6. Duck and Cover
7. Food For Clouds 
8. Second Sighting
9. Memorymix
10. Fist Full Of Bees 
11. Nightbird
12. Xibalba    
13. Goodbye (Butterfly)

tirsdag 18. mars 2014

The Black Angels - Clear Lake Forest

...Austin psych-rock outfit The Black Angels released their fourth studio album, Indigo Meadow, just last April. On Record Store Day (April 19th), they’ll return with a follow-up EP entitled Clear Lake Forest, featuring seven brand new songs pressed on limited-edition clear vinyl.

As a sneak peek, the band has unveiled “Diamond Eyes”. Aesthetically similar to Indigo Meadow, the track’s another highly-refined slice of blues-meets-psych-rock, with singer Alex Maas delivering his sun-baked croon over swirls of hazy feedback and guitars that zig-zag like rainbow-colored basilisks. Equal parts visceral and sweeping, it’s perfect for shindigs in the desert or as the soundtrack to your mescaline-fueled escape from heartache...      Consequence of Sound

tirsdag 4. mars 2014

Stream the First Black Lips' Underneath the Rainbow

Black Lips’ next album, Underneath the Rainbow, is out March 18 through Vice Records. It’s their first record since 2011′s Arabia Mountain, and it was co-produced by the Black Keys’ Patrick Carney.

torsdag 27. februar 2014

Tense Men 12"

(members of Cold Pumas / Sauna Youth / Omi Palone) 12"